The Ann MacLean Award for Outstanding Service by a Woman in Municipal Politics recognizes retired women municipal politicians who have shown exemplary service to their community and constituents and to mentoring women who want to run for elected office. It is named in honour of FCM Past President, Ann MacLean, who led FCM´s campaign to increase the number of women in municipal politics across Canada.

The recipient is chosen by the FCM Board of Directors and is presented with the award at our Annual Conference.

Past recipients:

2020: Alice Maitland,Village of Hazelton, BC

2019: Chantal Ouellet, Town of Scotstown, QC

2018: Margaret Tardif, Town of Falher, AB

2017: Claire Detheridge, Cape Breton Regional Municipality, NS

2016: Audrey Green, Town of Renfrew, ON

2015: Shirley Kalyniuk, Village of Rossburn, MB

2014: Suzanne (Shannie) Duff, City of St. John’s, NL

2013: Janet E. McEwen, City of London, ON

2012: Helen Hughes, City of Victoria, BC

© 2021 Federation of Canadian Municipalities