Please note that applications are now closed. The deadline for submissions was March 31, 2022.

In this category, we recognize municipal initiatives that advance deep reductions in community greenhouse gas (GHG) emissions. Winning initiatives will demonstrate a holistic approach relevant to municipalities across Canada. Plans, capital projects, feasibility studies, and studies to reduce GHG emissions and advance action across the municipality will all be considered.  

The winning initiative may incorporate renewable energy (e.g., solar, wind, geothermal, small-scale hydro) installations, energy conservation measures, or district energy systems. Energy plans, capital projects and programs are all eligible. For specific retrofit projects in housing or institutional buildings please see the Affordable Housing Retrofit and Community Buildings Retrofit categories.

Examples of eligible initiatives include:

  • Climate action programs that demonstrate leadership on mitigation strategies and that are driving deep reductions in community-wide greenhouse gas emissions 
  • Policies, programs, or partnerships that seek to replicate or scale up responses to reduce greenhouse gas emissions
  • Community energy initiatives, like renewable energy generation or district energy solutions that are working towards total decarbonization
  • Climate resilient, decarbonized transport solutions, including:
    • Programs and infrastructure focused on transportation demand management, including a shift from private vehicles to active transportation and/or public transit
    • Programs and infrastructure that encourage the transition to zero emission vehicles (ZEVs)
    • Programs and infrastructure focused on improving equitable access to low-emission transportation (active transportation, public transit, shared ZEVs, etc.)
    • Net-zero transportation master plans

Who can apply?

All Canadian municipalities and their partners are eligible to apply for a Sustainable Communities Award.

Learn about our 2020 Energy winner, the Town of Raymond, AB, whose Electrical Net Zero initiative is enlarging the solar PV system to offset 100% of the Town’s operational electrical consumption and save nearly 700 tonnes of CO2 per year. 

Learn about our 2020 Transportation winner, the Town of Cochrane, AB, whose on-demand local transit system is providing equitable access to public transit in a sustainable way.

How to apply

Complete and submit the application form.

The deadline to submit an application for a 2022 Sustainable Community Award is March 31, 2022. 

Contact us

For more information on how to apply, contact us.

Frequently Asked Questions

Answers to the most frequently asked questions for FCM’s 2022 Sustainable Communities Awards.

Meet the judges

Meet the judges of FCM’s 2022 Sustainable Communities Awards.

© 2023 Federation of Canadian Municipalities