Please note that applications are now closed. The deadline for submissions was March 31, 2022.

This award recognizes achievements contributing to climate change mitigation through deep energy efficiency retrofits in community buildings (municipal or non-profit owned). Winning initiatives must demonstrate lower operating and maintenance costs and improvements in energy performance in existing cultural, recreational, or athletic buildings. Eligible initiatives can include a single building or a portfolio of buildings where the majority of buildings are for a community purpose. Plans, capital projects, studies, and strategies will all be considered.

Examples of eligible initiatives include:  

  • Retrofits that optimize the energy performance and achieve a minimum of 30% reduction of greenhouse gas (GHG) emissions of community buildings owned by municipalities and non-profit organizations
  • Innovative studies, programs, projects, or policies that significantly reduce emissions towards achieving net-zero targets over time in existing municipal building’s portfolio. This includes community-purpose buildings such as recreational, cultural, and athletic facilities.

Who can apply?

1.   All Canadian municipal governments
2.   Their project partners, which includes:

  • Private sector entities
  • Indigenous communities 
  • Municipally owned corporations
  • A regional, provincial or territorial organization delivering municipal services
  • Non-governmental organizations and not-for-profit organizations
  • Research institutes (e.g., universities)

If you’re looking for examples, learn about the Town of Halton Hill’s journey to retrofitting their community building portfolio.

How to apply

Complete and submit the application form.

The deadline to submit an application for a 2022 Sustainable Community Award is March 31, 2022. 

Contact us

For more information on how to apply, contact us.

Frequently Asked Questions

Answers to the most frequently asked questions for FCM’s 2022 Sustainable Communities Awards.

Meet the judges

Meet the judges of FCM’s 2022 Sustainable Communities Awards.

© 2023 Federation of Canadian Municipalities