This award recognizes an initiative that excels in including natural assets (such as watersheds, wetlands, and forests) in municipal asset management processes and community services. Applicants need to demonstrate how they have accessed and analyzed relevant data about their municipal natural assets to help their municipality better integrate them into a sustainable service delivery and/or provide a climate change resilience benefit. Plans, strategies, and projects will all be considered.

Examples of eligible initiatives include:

  • The implementation of new asset management systems or processes that integrate natural resources or ecosystems that contribute to the provision of everyday municipal services
  • Initiatives that demonstrate how municipal natural assets provide a climate change resilience benefit
  • Renewal of natural assets done in a way that restores, protects, and increases community resiliency
  • Brownfield redevelopment done in a way that restores natural assets and services
  • Land use and developments that recognize and integrate natural systems into their planning
  • Restoration projects of lost natural systems (e.g., “daylighting” streams and rivers)
  • Special consideration will be given to natural asset initiatives that focus on water (e.g., water treatment, waste treatment, rainwater management, flood protection)

Who can apply?

All Canadian municipalities and their partners are eligible to apply for a Sustainable Communities Award.

Learn about our 2020 Asset Management winner, the city of Vernon, BC, whose drainage infrastructure prioritization plan helps to make their community more resilient to flooding and other climate-related events.

How to apply

Complete and submit the application form.

The deadline to submit an application for a 2022 Sustainable Community Award is March 31, 2022. 

Contact us

For more information on how to apply, contact us.

Frequently Asked Questions

Answers to the most frequently asked questions for FCM’s 2022 Sustainable Communities Awards.

Meet the judges

Meet the judges of FCM’s 2022 Sustainable Communities Awards.

© 2022 Federation of Canadian Municipalities