Front row (left to right): Alan DeSousa, Sheila Fitzgerald. Back row (left to right): Arne Elias, Marco Perron, Laurel Collins, Berry Vrbanovic, Nathalie Lechasseur, Ben Henderson, Renée Lazarowich (alternate member), David Martin, Michelle Brownlee, Rupa Bhawal-Montmorency, Josef Ayoub (alternate member), Denis Leclerc.

The Green Municipal Fund (GMF) Council does critical work to guide and support GMF, a fund that invests in innovative and effective environmental programs across Canada. The Council also provides advice, as required, to FCM's Board of Directors.

The members of the GMF Council are leaders from the federal, municipal and environmental sectors. One-third of Council members are Government of Canada representatives, one-third are elected municipal officials appointed by FCM's Board of Directors, and one-third are external members representing the public, private, academic and environment sectors. We're proud to have these innovators and champions of environmental sustainability on the GMF Council.

Members representing the municipal sector

Ben Henderson
Councillor Henderson was first elected to Edmonton City Council in 2007. He is on FCM's standing committees for Social Economic Development, Increasing Women's Participation in Municipal Government, and Municipal Infrastructure and Transportation Policy. He has also been an FCM board member of since 2008, and became chair of the GMF Council in 2015. Henderson brings a master's degree in Fine Arts and years of experience as a theatre director.

Alan DeSousa
Alan DeSousa is serving his fifth term as the Mayor of Saint Laurent, QC and has served on the City of Montreal's executive committee for over 11 years. He also served on the Montreal Metropolitan Community (MMC) council from 2002 to 2017 and was a member of the MMC executive committee for eight years. Alan is the architect of Montreal's sustainable development and environmental policies, taking them from planning to implementation.

Berry Vrbanovic
Berry Vrbanovic was elected mayor of Kitchener in 2014 after having served on Kitchener City council for six consecutive terms, beginning in 1994. Mayor Vrbanovic was an active member of the FCM Board from 2000 to 2013. He chaired a variety of standing committees during his time on the Board and was president in 2011-2012. Berry has been a leader on environmental initiatives in his community and is a former Co-Chair of Kitchener's Environmental Advisory Committee.

Sheila Fitzgerald
Sheila Fitzgerald is the Mayor of the Town of Roddickton-Bide Arm, NL. Mayor Fitzgerald also holds the position of Small Towns Director on the Municipalities Newfoundland and Labrador provincial association. She has an in-depth knowledge of municipal issues and the challenges small communities face in the areas of water, waste, transportation and energy.

Laurel Collins
Laurel Collins is a councillor of the City of Victoria, BC. She gained valuable experience as an instructor at the University of Victoria, teaching Social Justice Studies and Social Inequality. A dedicated social and environmental activist, Laurel is a delegate to the Victoria Labour Council and the co-chair and co-founder of Divest Victoria. Previously, she worked for Victoria Women in Need, the United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees in Northern Uganda, and as the Executive Director of the Victoria Multicultural Society.

Members representing the federal government

Joyce Henry
Joyce Henry is the Director General of the Office of Energy Efficiency at Natural Resources Canada. She has worked in a number of federal ministries, and previously served as the Director General of Marine Policy at Transport Canada, and as Executive Director to the Deputy Minister of Transport, Infrastructure and Communities.

Rupa Bhawal-Montmorency 
Rupa Bhawal-Montmorency is the director general of Science and Technology Services at Environment and Climate Change Canada. 

Michelle Brownlee   
Michelle Brownlee is the director general of Strategic Policy at Environment and Climate Change Canada. 

Nathalie Lechasseur 
Nathalie Lechasseur is the director general of Program Integration, Director General's Office, at Infrastructure Canada

Members representing the public, private, academic and environment sectors

Guy Burry
Guy Burry is a senior strategist with strong financial literacy and organizational capabilities. He has a strong background in board leadership and governance across a wide range of corporate settings.

Marco Perron
Marco Perron is a chartered accountant and a Partner at Raymond Chabot Grant Thornton (RCGT) and CEO of RCGT Consulting Inc. He has 18 years of professional experience working with public and private sector clients.

Arne Elias
Arne Elias is a sustainable transportation and energy sector specialist, the founding Chair of Canada Bikes and former Executive Director of the Centre for Sustainable Transportation at U-Winnipeg. Dr. Elias leads policy processes to strategically harmonize behavioural, technological and infrastructural sustainability. He holds a PhD and an MBA from the University of British Columbia. 

David Martin
David Martin has more than 27 years of experience in innovation, technology and business development across the utility, telecom, energy and water industries. He has worked in North America, Europe and Asia, and maintains strong roots in the North American utility sector.

Denis Leclerc
Denis Leclerc is President and CEO of Écotech Québec. He is also the Chairman of CanadaCleantech Alliance and of the International Cleantech Network. He has proven experience in issue management, public affairs, sustainable development and in relation with investors, socio-economic stakeholders and governments.

2019 Federation of Canadian Municipalities