March 20, 2018

Below is the list of partner organizations that have received funding, as well as details about their projects, and the 104 communities that will be participating.

All One Sky

Preparing a coordinated adaptation strategy for the Alberta Capital Region and its municipalities.

City of Spruce Grove, AB
City of Leduc, AB
Town of Devon, AB
City of St. Albert, AB
City of Edmonton, AB
Strathcona County, AB
Town of Stony Plain, AB
City of Wetaskiwin, AB

Clean Foundation

Identifying and overcoming the barriers to addressing impacts of rising sea levels and extreme weather.

Municipality of Digby, NS
Anapolis County, NS
City of Halifax, NS
County of Kings, NS
County of Cumberland, NS
Town of Lockeport, NS
Municipality of the District of Yarmouth, NS

Conservation Corps Newfoundland and Labrador

Developing vulnerability assessments and/or response plans, as well as tools and case studies for future sharing.

Town of Portugal Cove-St. Philip's, NL
City of Mount Pearl, NL
Town of Port Blandford, NL
Town of Long Bay-Middle Cove-Outer Cove, NL
Town of Grand Falls-Windsor, NL
Miawpukek First Nation Reserve, NL

Fraser Basin Council

Conducting gap analyses and vulnerability assessments for the specific climate needs of each municipality.

District of Tumbler Ridge, BC
District of Chetwynd, BC
City of Fort St. John, BC
City of Dawson Creek, BC
Northern Rockies Regional Municipality, BC
Town of Pouce Coupe, BC

Grand River Conservation Authority

Improving wastewater management facilities to better face climate change risks such as flooding, drought and extreme heat.

City of Brantford, ON
Regional Municipality of Waterloo, ON
Haldimand County, ON
County of Brant, ON
Township of Centre Wellington, ON

ICLEI Canada

Developing local climate impact reports, vulnerability and risk assessments, and adaptation plans for each participating community.

District of Ucluelet, BC
Town of Qualicum Beach, BC
City of Prince George, BC
Town of Caledon, ON
City of Peterborough, ON
City of Windsor, ON
Town of Portugal Cove-St. Philip's, NL
Town of Conception Bay South, NL


Developing storm water management and flood intervention plans that respond to both regional and specific municipal concerns.

Municipality of Plaisance, QC
Municipality of St-André-Avellin, QC
Town of Papineauville, QC
Town of Duhamel, QC
Town of Lac Simon, QC
Municipality of Ripon, QC


Conducting vulnerability and risk assessments and supporting the implementation of climate adaptation plans.

City of Greater Sudbury, ON
City of Sault Ste. Marie, ON
City of Timmins, ON
City of North Bay, ON
City of Thunder Bay, ON

Nature Québec

Assessing and adapting to climate change by focusing on reducing the effects of urban heat islands and atmospheric pollution.

Ville de Quebec, QC
Ville de Levis, QC
Ville de Victoriaville, QC
Ville de Drummondville, QC
Ville de Sherbrooke, QC

Ontario Parks Association

Analyzing and reporting on green infrastructure (natural assets) that each municipality can implement to manage risks from flooding and extreme heat.

City of Toronto, ON
City of Barrie, ON
City of Waterloo, ON
City of Brampton, ON
City of Guelph, ON
City of London, ON


Assessing participating municipalities’ vulnerability to coastal flooding and erosion using a cost analysis and decision-making tool from Ouranos.

Municipality of Notre-Dame-du-Portage, QC
City of Rivière-du-Loup, QC
Municipality of Sainte-Luce, QC
Town of Métis-sur-Mer, QC
Municipality of Sainte-Flavie, QC
Municipality of Grand-Métis, QC

Quest Canada

Preparing energy infrastructure vulnerability assessments and developing adaptation strategies tailored to each community’s needs.

Town of Cochrane, AB
Town of Devon, AB
Town of Okotoks, AB
City of Saint John, NB
Regional Municipality of Tracadie, NB
City of Campbellton, NB

Quinte Conservation Association

Developing drought monitoring and response plans in in the watersheds of the Moira, Napanee and Salmon Rivers, as well as Prince Edward County.

City of Belleville, ON
Municipality of Tweed, ON
Township of Addington-Highlands, ON
Township of Tyendinaga, ON
Township of North Frontenac, ON
Township of South Frontenac, ON
Township of Madoc, ON
Township of Stirling-Rawdon, ON
Township of Stone Mills, ON
Township of Central Frontenac, ON
Municipality of Marmora and Lake, ON
City of Quinte West, ON
Township of Tudor and Cashel, ON
Town of Deseronto, ON
Loyalist Township, ON
Prince Edward County, ON
Town of Greater Napanee, ON
Municipality of Centre Hastings, ON

Selkirk College

Selkirk College will be working with municipalities in the Columbia Basin-Boundary region to build their capacity to adapt to climate change through regional-scale action and collaborative learning.

Regional District of Central Kootenay, BC
Regional District of Kootenay Boundary, BC
City of Cranbrook, BC
City of Nelson, BC
Village of Silverton, BC
Regional District of East Kootenay, BC
City of Rossland, BC
City of Kimberley, BC
Town of Golden, BC

Smart Prosperity Institute

Assessing and comparing the operating costs of natural assets and grey infrastructure to manage risks from flooding and extreme heat.

City of Courtenay, BC
City of Oshawa, ON
Southeast Regional Service Commission, NB
District of Sparwood, BC
Western Valley Regional Service Commission, NB

Partner grant
Municipalities for Climate Innovation Program
Climate change
© 2021 Federation of Canadian Municipalities