Don't have an account? Create one now

GMF Council 2017–2018

The GMF Council is guided by a council chair and a vice-chair. One-third of Council members are elected municipal officials appointed by the FCM Board of Directors, one-third are Government of Canada representatives, and one-third are external members representing the public, private, academic and environment sectors.

Members representing the municipal sector

  • Ben Henderson

    Ben Henderson

    Councillor Henderson was first elected to Edmonton City Council in 2007. He is on FCM's standing committees for Social Economic Development, Increasing Women's Participation in Municipal Government, and Municipal Infrastructure and Transportation Policy. He has also been an FCM board member of since 2008, and became chair of the GMF Council in 2015. Henderson brings a master's degree in Fine Arts and years of experience as a theatre director.
  • Andrea Reimer

    Andrea Reimer

    Andrea Reimer is the Councillor of Vancouver and has been involved in Canadian politics for 15 years. Councillor Reimer was first elected to Vancouver City Council in 2008, and re-elected in 2011 and 2014. She is known for being a climate change champion and is familiar with the challenges that municipalities face when tackling issues of environmental sustainability. She was appointed to the GMF Council in 2015 and is now vice-chair.
  • Berry Vrbanovic

    Berry Vrbanovic

    Berry Vrbanovic was elected mayor of Kitchener in 2014 after having served on Kitchener City council for six consecutive terms, beginning in 1994. Mayor Vrbanovic was an active member of the FCM Board from 2000 to 2013. He chaired a variety of standing committees during his time on the Board and was president in 2011-2012. Berry has been a leader on environmental initiatives in his community and is a former Co-Chair of Kitchener's Environmental Advisory Committee.
  • Martin Damphousse

    Martin Damphousse

    Martin Damphousse has lived in Varennes for 20 years and was elected mayor on November 1, 2009, with the environment as a priority.
  • Sheila Fitzgerald

    Sheila Fitzgerald

    Sheila Fitzgerald is the Mayor of the Town of Roddickton-Bide Arm, NL. Mayor Fitzgerald also holds the position of Small Towns Director on the Municipalities Newfoundland and Labrador provincial association. She has an in-depth knowledge of municipal issues and the challenges small communities face in the areas of water, waste, transportation and energy.

Members representing the federal government

  • Judith Bossé

    Judith Bossé

    Judith Bossé is Director General at the CanmetENERGY Research Centre in Varennes, QC. She has worked in the federal government since the late 1980s and most recently joined the Department of Natural Resources Canada as Chief Scientist and Assistant Deputy Minister of the Earth Sciences Sector.
  • Matt Parry

    Matt Parry

    In his current role as Director General, Strategic Policy, Matt Parry provides strategic analysis and advice to senior officials of Environment and Climate Change Canada on the management of the department's policy priorities, including those concerning climate change mitigation and adaptation and freshwater. In 2016, he served as co-chair of the federal-provincial-territorial Working Group on Adaptation and Climate Resilience.
  • Laura Di Paolo

    Laura Di Paolo

    Laura Di Paolo is the Director General of Program Integration at Infrastructure Canada. She is responsible for the design and delivery of the Government of Canada's new infrastructure programs to support federal investments.

Members representing the public, private, academic and environment sectors

  • Arne Elias

    Arne Elias

    Arne Elias is passionate about building sustainability in the transportation and energy sectors through applied research, projects, education and engagement.
  • Guy Burry

    Guy Burry

    Guy Burry is a senior strategist with strong financial literacy and organizational capabilities. He has a strong background in board leadership and governance across a wide range of corporate settings.
  • Marco Perron

    Marco Perron

    Marco Perron is a chartered accountant and a Partner at Raymond Chabot Grant Thornton (RCGT) and CEO of RCGT Consulting Inc. He has 18 years of professional experience working with public and private sector clients.
  • Andrew Bowerbank

    Andrew Bowerbank

    Andrew is currently the director, Sustainable Buildings Services at EllisDon Corporation where he is leading a team in the development of a new "low Carbon Agenda" for the company. He is a respected authority on green buildings, clean energy technologies, sustainable communities and industrial design with domestic and international experience in project development and diplomatic relations.
  • Nirmalendu Bhattacharya

    Nirmalendu Bhattacharya

    Recently retired from the position of director of engineering and public works for the District of Central Saanich, Nirmal brings practical experience in all areas of municipal activity supported by GMF and in working with municipal decision-makers.
Page Updated: 31/10/2017