Don't have an account? Create one now

2011 Recipients

Mayor Derek Corrigan

City of Burnaby, British Columbia

Over his 24 years in municipal politics, Mayor Corrigan has been an exemplary champion of sustainable development initiatives, not only in the City of Burnaby, but also regionally and internationally. A long-time director of Metro Vancouver, he currently chairs both the Social Sustainability Strategy Steering Committee, and the Metro Vancouver Regional Planning Committee and the Sustainable Region Initiative 2011. He is a member of the Waste Management Committee and a representative to the International Centre for Sustainable Cities. Mayor Corrigan is also the recipient of a special recognition award for his participation in the UN Nuclear Non-Proliferation Conference.

City of Calgary, Alberta

The City of Calgary´s impressive track record on sustainability demonstrates commitment, leadership and innovation across municipal departments. The City has won numerous international, national and regional awards celebrating its environmental stewardship efforts. By focusing on community engagement, real environmental impacts and systems thinking, it has succeeded in moving several innovative sustainable development plans and projects from idea to reality. In addition, Calgary has received five FCM Sustainable Community Awards and achieved nine of the ten milestones in the Partners for Climate Protection Program.

Page Updated: 15/11/2016