Don't have an account? Create one now

FCM announces recipients of 2015 awards of excellence (08/06/2015)

EDMONTON, AB -   The Federation of Canadian Municipalities (FCM) announced its 2015 Awards of Excellence during FCM's Annual Conference and Trade Show in Edmonton. The awards recognize outstanding contributions on the part of individuals, municipal associations and local governments.

Roll of Honour Awards

These awards pay tribute to FCM officers, and to officials of member municipalities and municipal associations who have made an outstanding contribution to FCM and to municipal government in Canada.

Basil Stewart: Mr. Stewart has dedicated almost 45 years to the City of Summerside, PEI, serving as a police officer before becoming the town's mayor until November 2014. As an FCM Board member, Basil served on several committees and was elected President in 2009. He was chosen Citizen of the Year for Summerside in 1989, and received the Canada 125 Medal in 1992.

Doug Reycraft: From his first election in 1970, Mr. Reycraft has dedicated over 40 years to public service, and has served his hometown of Glencoe, ON, in a variety of community groups. As the Association of Ontario Municipalities' president from 2006 to 2008, he co-chaired the Provincial Municipal Fiscal and Services Delivery Review that resulted in the upload of social services and court security costs, valued at over $1.5 billion annually when fully phased in by 2018.

Karen Leibovici: Ms. Leibovici's first foray into politics came in 1993 with her election to the Alberta Legislative Assembly as the representative for Edmonton-Meadowlark. After two terms, she then served on Edmonton City Council from 2001 to 2014. Karen was first elected to the FCM Board in 2005 and became president in 2012. Karen was chair of the Edmonton Stop Marijuana Grow Operation Coalition; an organization that received honourable mention in Alberta's 2008 Minister's Awards for Municipal Excellence.    

Ann MacLean Award for Outstanding Service by a Woman in Municipal Politics

This award recognizes retired women municipal politicians who have shown exemplary service to their community and constituents and to mentoring women who want to run for elected office. It is named in honour of FCM Past President Ann MacLean, who led FCM´s campaign to increase the number of women in municipal politics across Canada.

Shirley Kalyniuk : In 1983, Shirley Kalyniuk became the Village of Rossburn's, MB, first woman elected since the village's incorporation in 1913. She was elected mayor in 1993 and served until 2014. During her career in municipal politics, Shirley also served as chairperson for the Manitoba Department of Education Board of Reference, and for almost a decade with the Association of Manitoba Municipalities. She remains active in community issues such as adult literacy and numeracy, accessibility, and services and affordable housing for seniors.  

Awards of Excellence for Outstanding Contribution to International Programs

These awards recognize municipalities, local government associations or individuals that demonstrate exceptional innovation and leadership in their participation in FCM's international programs. Each year, FCM mobilizes Canadian municipalities and municipal experts to work with communities around the world to help them deliver basic services, promote economic growth and encourage citizen participation.

Mike Badham Award for Outstanding Contribution to International Programs (Individual)

Gary MacIsaac, Union of British Columbia Municipalities: As a leading municipal expert on association capacity-building, UBCM Executive Director Gary MacIsaac has been providing guidance on policy development and advocacy to local government associations in Asia and Africa since 2002.

Award for Outstanding Contribution to International Programs (Institutional)

Town of Beaumont, Alberta: their work with elected officials, farmers, the business community and other stakeholders in the Kohtom and Saang districts of Cambodia has led to marked improvements in crop management and marketing.

MRC de la Matawinie: Matawinie's municipal experts helped local government officials in Bougoula, Mali, revitalize the town market, and provided guidance to Orodara's local government on the creation of support services for small and medium-sized businesses.

Green Champion Awards

These awards recognize a municipality, association or individual that demonstrated outstanding leadership and a commitment to implementing sustainable development initiatives in their community.

Green Champion Award (Individual)

Gerald Minchuk, Director of Development Services and Economic Development, City of Langley, BC: During his 21 years of service, Gerald Minchuk has demonstrated leadership and commitment to sustainable development by spearheading several innovative plans, projects and programs. Most recently, he played an integral role in the City of Langley's award-winning Brownfield Redevelopment Strategy, an initiative that has delivered $192 million in new construction and 850 new jobs.

Green Champion Award (Municipality)

Halifax Regional Municipality, Nova Scotia: Since joining FCM and ICLEI's Partners for Climate Protection Program in 1997, Halifax has achieved all five program milestones for municipal energy management. It has also successfully delivered 12 innovative sustainability plans, studies and projects supported by FCM's Green Municipal Fund. Its award-winning Solar City program has also become a model for property assessed renewable energy (or PACE) generation across Canada. The Federation of Canadian Municipalities (FCM) is the national voice of municipal government. In leading the municipal movement, FCM works to align federal and local priorities, recognizing that strong hometowns make for a strong Canada!

Page Updated: 05/10/2017