CEDI is implemented in partnership by the Council for the Advancement of Native Development Officers (Cando) and FCM. The initiative aims to improve the economic prosperity of First Nations and adjacent municipalities through joint community economic development planning and initiatives.

CEDI’s approach is to convene, listen and unite. CEDI gives First Nations and municipalities a chance to come together, learn from each other and work on common priorities, all while building respectful and sustainable government-to-government partnerships.

Knowledge products, tools and resources to support your First Nation-municipal partnership.

Notice of upcoming call for applications

Calling First Nation and municipal neighbours in Alberta, Saskatchewan and Manitoba who are interested in building their inter-governmental relationships and collaborating on joint community economic development.

On February 28th, Cando and FCM will open a call for applications for the CEDI program in the Prairies region. Joint First Nation-Municipal applications will be accepted until March 27th, 2024. Mark the date and connect with your neighbouring First Nation or municipality if this is of interest to your communities.

Application information and application forms will be made available on February 28th, please check back then.

Information Session – March 7th, 2024 from 3 p.m. to 4 p.m. EST

If you are interested in applying to the CEDI program and have questions, please invite your partner community to join you at the call for application information session webinar on Thursday, March 7th 3 p.m. to 4 p.m. EST. This interactive session will provide an overview of the CEDI program application and intake process, it will highlight a current CEDI partnership from Phase III, and provide an opportunity to ask questions to the CEDI team.

Register today

Cando logo

Partnering Organization

This program is funded by the Government of Canada and implemented in partnership with Cando (Council for the Advancement of Native Development Officers).

© 2024 Federation of Canadian Municipalities