Western municipal leaders are on the front lines of economic uncertainty. Every day, we see people losing their livelihoods, their homes and their hopes for the future.  As the order of government closest to Canadians, we’re determined to help build better lives.

FCM’s Western Economic Solutions Taskforce (WEST) brings together rural and urban municipal leaders from Manitoba, Saskatchewan, Alberta and British Columbia. We’re driving solutions to support struggling communities—and we’re bringing western municipal voices to Ottawa.

WEST is putting forward concrete recommendations for the federal government to adopt, and for all municipalities to share and build on. We’re focused on four key areas:

  • getting resources and products to market;
  • energy development, climate policy and regulation;
  • supporting communities to diversify economies;
  • municipal infrastructure and fiscal sustainability.

Municipal leaders are problem solvers. FCM’s ability to convene and unite diverse local expertise—and to build bridges between orders of governments—makes us essential partners in tackling Canada’s biggest challenges. All of us have a stake in building a strong and united Canada.

Members of FCM’s Western Economic Solutions Taskforce

WEST unites rural and urban municipal leaders from Manitoba, Saskatchewan, Alberta and British Columbia. By convening mayors, reeves, councillors and presidents of municipal associations—representing hundreds of rural and urban communities—we’re ensuring that a full range of western municipal perspectives are heard at the federal level.

  • Randy Goulden, FCM Regional Chair – WEST Chair
  • Paul McLauchlin, President of the Rural Municipalities of Alberta – WEST Vice-Chair
  • Charlie Clark, Mayor of Saskatoon – WEST Vice-Chair
  • Joanne Vanderheyden, FCM President
  • Taneen Rudyk, FCM First Vice-President
  • Scott Pearce, FCM Second Vice-President
  • Geoff Stewart, FCM Third Vice-President
  • Garth Frizzell, FCM Past President
  • Kam Blight, President of the Association of Manitoba Municipalities
  • Angela Duncan, Interim President of the Alberta Urban Municipalities Association 
  • Brian Frenkel, President of the Union of British Columbia Municipalities
  • Ray Orb, President of the Saskatchewan Association of Rural Municipalities and FCM Rural Forum Chair
  • Rodger Hayward, President of the Saskatchewan Urban Municipalities Association
  • Naheed Nenshi, Mayor of Calgary
  • Don Iveson, Mayor of Edmonton
  • Sandra Masters, Mayor of Regina
  • Brian Bowman, Mayor of Winnipeg
Related focus areas
Explore the topics we’re working on related to the Western Economic Solutions Taskforce.


Local governments own approximately 60 percent of the public infrastructure that supports our economy and quality of life. Through advocacy and support, we help them build a stronger Canada.

Rural, northern and remote

Rural, northern and remote communities are integral to Canada’s economy and quality of life. With our advocacy and support, their local governments are building a brighter future.
© 2021 Federation of Canadian Municipalities