The Ann MacLean Award for Outstanding Service by a Woman in Municipal Politics recognizes retired women municipal politicians who have shown exemplary service to their community and constituents and who have mentored, or are mentoring, women elected to municipal office, or women who are interested in running. 

The award is named in honour of FCM Past President Ann MacLean, who led FCM's campaign to increase the number of women in municipal politics across Canada. 

Only women who are no longer holding elected office will be considered.

Nominations will remain confidential.


Announcing the 2021 winner

Lynne Woolstencroft, former school board trustee and Councillor in Waterloo, ON


Take a look at past recipients.

© 2021 Federation of Canadian Municipalities