Fifty-eight municipalities have been granted funding from the Government of Canada, through the Federation of Canadian Municipalities to supplement the salary of a new or existing municipal employee who will work on initiatives to improve adaptation to local climate change impacts or reduce greenhouse gas emissions. These grants, which are allocated over two years, help municipalities address climate change by training staff on ways to reduce pollution and improve energy efficiency in the operation and maintenance of their public infrastructure.

Participating communities can use the funding to assign dedicated staff to activities such as developing strategies to reduce greenhouse gas emissions, or developing infrastructure plans that aim to adapt to or mitigate the intensifying effects of climate change.

Climate change staff grants are available through the Municipalities for Climate Innovation Program delivered by the Federation of Canadian Municipalities and funded by the Government of Canada.

Municipality and province Approved Amount Activity
Red Deer, Alberta $125,000 Mitigation
Municipal District of Taber, Alberta $125,000 Adaptation
Falher, Alberta $108,062 Adaptation
Drayton Valley, Alberta $125,000 Mitigation
Bruderheim, Alberta $23,000 Adaptation
Canmore, Alberta $125,000 Mitigation
Okotoks, Alberta $125,000 Mitigation
Big Lakes County, Alberta $107,200 Mitigation
Brazeau County, Alberta $108,800 Adaptation
Powell River, British Columbia $120,000 Mitigation
District of Central Saanich, British Columbia $125,000 Adaptation
Rural Municipality of East St. Paul, Manitoba $125,000 Adaptation
Churchill, Manitoba $125,000 Adaptation
Mount Pearl, Newfoundland and Labrador $125,000 Mitigation
Deer Lake, Newfoundland and Labrador $64,000 Mitigation
Wolfville, Nova Scotia $92,800 Mitigation
County of Huron, Ontario $124,000 Adaptation
District Municipality of Muskoka, Ontario $106,812 Adaptation
Lincoln, Ontario $125,000 Adaptation
County of Norfolk, Ontario $76,886 Adaptation
Pelham, Ontario $125,000 Adaptation
County of Northumberland, Ontario $122,400 Mitigation
Municipality of Chatham-Kent, Ontario $102,049 Mitigation
County of Dufferin, Ontario $125,000 Mitigation
Manitoulin District, Ontario $72,000 Mitigation
Brantford, Ontario $125,000 Mitigation
Orangeville, Ontario $125,000 Adaptation
City of Peterborough, Ontario $125,000 Adaptation
Municipality of Clarington, Ontario $125,000 Adaptation
County of Wellington, Ontario $125,000 Mitigation
St. Catharines, Ontario $125,000 Adaptation
Essex, Ontario $106,912 Adaptation
Township of Selwyn, Ontario $114,080 Mitigation
Owen Sound, Ontario $117,636 Adaptation
Sarnia, Ontario $125,000 Adaptation
Cochrane, Ontario $125,000 Mitigation
Municipality of North Perth, Ontario $110,400 Mitigation
Municipality of South Huron, Ontario $114,567 Adaptation
Township of Tay Valley, Ontario $16,661 Mitigation
Port Colborne, Ontario $122,953 Mitigation
Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario $125,000 Mitigation
Whitby, Ontario $125,000 Adaptation
Township of Bonfield, Ontario $120,000 Adaptation
Township of King, Ontario $98,542 Mitigation
Township of West Lincoln, Ontario $125,000 Adaptation
Mont-Tremblant, Quebec $112,000 Adaptation
MRC des Sources, Quebec $58,137 Adaptation
MRC de Vaudreuil-Soulanges, Quebec $119,200 Mitigation
Joliette, Quebec $120,000 Adaptation
MRC de Pontiac, Quebec $102,719 Mitigation
Municipalité de Chelsea, Quebec $117,500 Adaptation
Municipalité de Prévost, Quebec $79,520 Mitigation
Montréal – Borough of Saint-Laurent, Quebec $125,000 Mitigation
Municipalité de Pontiac, Quebec $120,000 Adaptation
Sainte-Anne-de-Bellevue, Quebec $121,822 Adaptation
Municipalité de l'Anse-Saint-Jean, Quebec $63,705 Adaptation
Whitehorse, Yukon $125,000 Mitigation
Faro, Yukon $125,000 Adaptation

Source: FCM

Municipalities for Climate Innovation Program
Climate change
© 2024 Federation of Canadian Municipalities